appropriate.

“Please dress appropriately,” said she, mother of I. I couldn’t help but find this a little contradictory given that she was possibly the most outrageously dressed person in 1960’s/70’s Melbourne (and that’s saying a LOT).

By “appropriately” I presumed she meant “Please don’t wear anything that middle aged people attending a high school function in the suburbs will find too daring and lose the tri-colour hair”.

And so here is a “semi-formal” outfit that I wore to my sister’s year 12 graduation/valedictory dinner last night. A simple vintage raw silk dress which has just enough poof in the skirt to be flattering for my figure, and my brand new amazeballs H&M leopard wedges with exposed zippers. The hair wasn’t quite so Helena-Bonham-Carter-Wild either, I pulled the sides back in a 60’s do.

I had completely forgotten I had ever placed an order with H&M online, but with the prices so cheap I couldn’t resist. What I forgot to include was the cost of posting the parcel from its London shipping address to mine here in (out of shipping zone) Australia, so my 7-pound wedges became more like 47-pound wedges. Regardless, they are possibly the most comfortable shoe I have ever put on. This reminds me, I’d like to introduce you to my entire summer shoe collection.


Yeah, that’s all I got. I guess you can say I like to live in ankle boots pretty much 24/7, 365/85 (expected life span). Please also excuse the foot shot, nobody likes a foot photo. So it’s nice to finally have something that won’t cause me to break out in a perspiration rash or require socks. I am 100% against thongs/flip flops (they should be seen only at the beach) and hopefully soon I will have raised the required funds for a pair of JC wooden platforms of some kind, so one might say the summer collection is a “work in progress”.

Anyway, today I am prepping for my stall at the Walk-In-Wardrobe Fundraiser for Youthcare, Australia happening tomorrow in Greville St, Prahran. If you’re in the area, please pop down!

Proceeds from the event are going to such a worthwhile charity, and I’ll be selling off plenty of Twin Cat sale stock plus some of Twin Cat Collection and sunnies at discounted rates. It should be a really fun day and I hear the other stallholders will invoke some serious drooling.

eBay auctions finish tomorrow night too over in our eBay Bargain Store, so check that out if you feel a void in the spring/summer frock department of your wardrobe!

Hope you all have a great weekend! xx

This entry was posted in Outfit Posts, Store News, Twin Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to appropriate.

  1. Hi Sam, so glad to come across your interesting blog:
    lovely post, you’re absolutely appropriately dressed and
    those shoes are gorgeous-looking. Swear I’ll be back in
    a jiffy, ciao from Italy!

  2. That dress is so pretty! And I adore those wedges. I’m so gutted H&M don’t post to Australia! What is it with these archaic companies that refuse to acknowledge that we exist?! I am going to stock up big time when I hit London next month, believe me.

    x

  3. wow love this look!

    those wedges are amazing!

    feel free to visit/comment on my blog, http://www.thefacelessblog.com…. and follow me on google friends and bloglovin if u wish!

    glad to have bumped into your blog 🙂

    keep in touch. xx

  4. you look lovely! i don’t think your mum could have complained about your appearance! although if it were up to me i’d have told you to keep your helena bonham carter hair 😀

    SO glad you also think thongs are a big no-no! i have never owned a pair in my life and don’t plan to! i want a pair of JC’s too, the mariels, but they’re hard to locate at the moment xx

Leave a Reply

